An interview with Eve, taken during Part 1 of The Sentinel

Where do you dream of traveling to and why?

Anywhere quiet, a desert island somewhere where no one will ever find me.  It seems that death awaits me at every turn, with someone trying to kill me on an almost daily basis.  I’d like to wake up one morning, with the sun on my face and know that I was completely safe.

 
Tell us about your family.

I don’t have one.  I had people in my life that I was told were my parents.  It turns out they were Guardians, super strength beings sent to protect me.  They’re all dead now, they were killed in an arson attack on my home.  I suppose I have a new family now, my Personal Guard, my best friends Seth and Persia.  There’s Quinn, the only link to my past. I guess he’s my only family now.

 
What was the scariest moment of your life?

The coach crash was terrifying, when I thought the coach was going to tip over the edge and kill all of us inside.  But what happened next was much worse.  Because it was the moment my whole life unravelled, when everything I knew to be true turned out to be a lie.  My teachers rescuing me under impossible circumstances was bad enough, but finding out that I was the only one that mattered to them was horrifying.  They were going to let the coach go over the cliff, let everyone on the coach die, rather than risk the secret surrounding me being exposed.  I managed to stop them.  But that night was only the beginning.  Everything got much worse after that.

 

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a doctor, the thought of helping people appealed to me.  Little did I know that one day I would be helping seven billion people on the same day.  Yes, according to the Oraculum, the council of nine super powered beings, I’m going to save the world. According to Persia, my best friend, I’m going to die trying.
What group did you hang out with in high school?

I have never been one of the really cool kids, or really clever or really sporty.  I am distinctly average.   I think my friends, well my classmates, will look at our class photo, years from now, when they find it covered in dust at the back of the cupboard, and after laughing at their younger selves, they might pick out their friends and laugh at them too.  And then their eyes might drift to me, standing second from the left on the third row and they’d say, ‘who was that, what was her name, was it Eve something, Eve Jones that was it.’  Then their eyes would slide away from mine to find a much more interesting memory.  As far as my class mates are concerned, I’m just Eve, nice, plain old Eve.  But that’s what I want them to think.  I would hate them to know any different.

 

 

 

What are you passionate about these days?

I just need to be ready to save the world.  So many people have given up their lives to protect me, so many have already ended up dead.  I have to work as hard as I can so when the time comes, however it comes, I’m ready to face it.

 

 
What do you do to unwind and relax?

Ha, there is very little time for that, I’m training every second of the day.  Sleeping seems to be my only downtime.  I fall into bed exhausted every night.  But the brief moments in the mornings, before I get up, when Seth is there and it’s just me and him, it’s then, wrapped in his arms, that I know I am safe.  For a fleeting, snatched moment I can relax.

 
What makes you happy? 

Being with Seth makes me happy.  Nothing else comes close.

 

What is something people would be surprised to know about you?

That I’m supposed to save the world.  I’m having trouble believing that myself.  I can’t help thinking there’s been some terrible mistake.  I’m small and thin and I strongly doubt that I have all this power that they foresee I have.  I’ve seen bits of it, little sparks, tiny achievements.  I can make it snow and I’ve created fireballs in my hands, but that all seems very small and menial when faced with the task of global devastation.

 

The Sentinel can be found here http://amzn.to/1giKNVp

 

Leave a Reply

